Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Average Joe
2,654 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, there I was... I signed up for the Marines this year. I graduated boot camp in September, and I graduated the School of Infantry today. I'm a bonafide grunt today. I lost weight and strength through all of my training, and am less fit now than when I entered. I have learned to endure senseless repetition and to take responsibility for my actions, but more importantly, I have learned how to suffer gracefully. I thank the Lord every day for helping me have the right attitude to get through it all, and I thank the Lord for giving me an understanding and supportive wife that loves me all the more for it. I can't wait to get home and be better than I once was, stronger than I am, and as fearless as I will ever be. Ooh'rah!

·
Registered
1,628 Posts
Grats! Stay safe and be sure that many appreciate your service.

Now, head for Applebee's, Golden Corral and Outback over this coming weekend.

SCORE!

·
Super Moderator
14,524 Posts
Welcome to the Corps.

Reactions: TDFbound

·
Registered
541 Posts
Thank you.:thumb:

Tomorrow will be the USMC birthday too!

·
Average Joe
2,654 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
so you less fit now then before boot and ait ? you must be a hollywood marine
I was an endurance athlete before I left- none of the PT at Boot Camp or SOI was similar to my 5 hour workouts I was used to- a lot more "general fitness" (aka CrossFit, which I do anyways) than cardio. Due to diet and sleep constraints, I lost a ton of muscle, including six inches off of each leg. wish me luck putting twenty pounds back on and re-lowering my heart rate back down to the low 30's!

·
Those were the days....
4,542 Posts
Welcome aboard.

Take care of your feet. Keep `em dry and get the best boots you can. Had a pair of Bates Lites, loved them.

When you get to the Fleet, keep your mouth shut and your eyes and ears open.

Know where your headed yet?

·
thepostmandelivers
1,241 Posts