Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first post so forgive me if this is something I could have found on the forums some how(just point me in the right direction). I'm brand new to this food storage stuff but have felt in my gut for a while now that I need to do it especially now that I have 2 little ones. Could someone here recommend a book or another resource that would give details to the exact food that I would need to store? I want to get started....like yesterday.

·
Inglourious Basterd
2,966 Posts
IMO,the "right" foods to store ,are things that you and your family like to eat. Standard canned products :soups ,tuna ,chicken ,beans(canned or dry),vegetables ,dried pasta, dry rice ,powdered milk. You can either find a store in your area that sells products in bulk (Sam's club)to save money,or you buy a few items each week at your local grocer that are on sale that week. Set aside a closet , corner shelves in a basement or any controlled climate environment ,to set up your preps. Stay organized ,rotate canned goods, keeping the nearest expiration dates up front.Use a marker to write expiration dates on top of cans for easy maintenance. Obtaining enough food on hand to provide 1500 calories per person ,per day and 1 gallon of water per person per day for 1 month is a great goal to reach for. Once you have reached that milestone ,it is totally subjective as to how much food and fresh water you should have on hand, some strive for a 1 year supply ,but that is quite a lofty goal for most people.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the quick reply. I had considered buying from the pre-packed storable food companies (IE efoodsdirect) but thought maybe I could do some research myself, same some money and do a better job. Any thoughts?

·
Inglourious Basterd
2,966 Posts