Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Destroyer of Ignorance
2,988 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm very seriously considering a career in the medical field. I will state upfront that I have zero medical experience but I'm not squimish at all and I really think I'd enjoy truly helping people. I'm drawn to the pay of nursing but I think I'd be happier as an EMT/Paramedic. I've spoken with our local college about the nursing program and was told it would be day classes only and the next chance would not be until the Spring of 2012. In order to go to college, I'd have to leave my current employer since I work 60-70 hours per week. I'm thinking maybe I should go work as an EMT while I go to school. Figure I can work evenings or overnights and get a feel for it at the same time. So, let the questions begin ...

Can you work a regular 40 hour shift as an EMT or is it constant OT?

Can I make comprable money as an EMT as compared to nursing?

What should I be doing right now to move towards a career as an EMT?

Are there any glaring downsides that I may be overlooking?

Thanks guys/gals.

·
Survivor, so far
45,984 Posts
Those are both good career fields. You should also check out these three:

X-Ray Technologist (Radiographer)
Respiratory Therapist
Physical Therapist

All can pay pretty well ($50K or more).

It looks like your timing is right, too. Obamycare
and the increasing number of boomers needing
medical care are making for the perfect storm.

·
Indefatigable
21,089 Posts