Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Evolutionist
349 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I wasn't sure where to post this, but this seemed like the right forum or room... This is the kind of topic you might not think of until you find yourself in the situation, unless you've been there/done that.

When I was a wildland firefighter, we often spent many consecutive days humping hills with our packs on. It was inevitable that sometimes a piece of critical gear would get damadged, or wear out. Even the highest quality equipment can can have problems when it gets used day in and day out and used hard. I've seen water bottle pouch straps (belt type) come apart. I've seen shoulder straps start to tear because of a slice or tear in the material. I've seen the stitching on waist belts start to seperate from the pack. I've seen other "loaded" stitching start to come apart.

When gear fails, it usually means that you now have to carry whatever it is in your hand(s), because you can't just leave it behind. This can be problematic for a number of reasons which yo can guess and I will not bore you with. The best solution I ever was was to carry what we called a snap kit and a "saddle stitcher." I've included photos, hopefully they up load. THe saddle stitcher is super small, the wooden handle has a threaded cap and the hollow handle holds the needles and extra thread. It's not really thread, something much heavier that does not break (not monofiliment either). Very compact and light weight. Can use on any kind of webbing, nylon, kevlar, heavy canvas and leather. The snap kit just allows you to either replace a missing snap, or add a snap where you need one. Again, very small and light weight. I never bought or used the snap kit pliers, just the metal "punch" and a hammer, or a rock in the field. I seen them both on Amazon, though I got mine in a hardware store. Probably can find in a feed & tack type store too.