Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Space Shuttle Door Gunner
173 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Dumb question. How does one navigate without a compass? I have heard some people can navigate using the sun, but what if it is a situation like in a snowstorm or rainstorm and the sun isn't showing?

·
6 Boys and 13 Hands
10,346 Posts
Plants can show you cardinal points.

Large bark trees such as Maple, the bark will be tighter on the north side of the tree and wider on the south. Also tree limbs tend to extend in a more horizontal position on the south side of a tree and more vertical on the north. Some flowers will also indicate a cardinal point such as sunflowers as they always point east.

Cows even tend to face north (according to Google). (but as a former dairy farmer I dispute this claim as they tend to face the barn and their source of food)

·
Registered
821 Posts
Celestial navigation is reliable, but not always possible.

Get a compass. Get a relavant topo map of your area. Buy a book on "land navigation made simple" or something like that.

Learn the theory then go out and practice the method.

some things can't be taught on the interwebs.

·
Registered
1,082 Posts
Get the book, Finding Your Way With Out Map or Compass by Harold Gatty. It explains how primitive people found their way across oceans and entire continents using only observation. Very good book in my opinion and a must for everyone's navigation library.

For learning navigation with map and compass get the book, Be Expert with Map and Compass by Bjorn Kjelstrom. Best book I've ever read on land navigation, and yet again, a must for your navigation library.

·
Banned
217 Posts
Navigating with the sun is pretty easy - and even if it's overcast you can generally tell where the sun is in the sky.

Also, the north side of trees tends to be mossy :)

·
Knowledge is Power
177 Posts
Plants can show you cardinal points.