Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all new to the site have been reading and seaching some. Havent read up alot on mylar, but is it better that vacuum sealing? Like I said im just starting out and trying to learn so dont be too hard on me. :D: Main reason for asking is, that I have already have a sealer. Thanks in advance.

·
Bad Moon Rising
8,897 Posts
Guys on the forum who know more about it than I do maintain that, o-v-e-r t-i-m-e, the polymer bags used for vacuum sealing will eventually allow oxygen through the polymer.

Mylar does not - it is the choice of manufacturers who package everything from juice drinks to Mountain House freeze-dried foods in mylar envelopes.

For truly long-term storage you're likely better off buying the mylar bags. They are not terribly expensive, and are easily found on sites like Amazon.com

·
Left the building
9,363 Posts
Hi all new to the site have been reading and seaching some. Havent read up alot on mylar, but is it better that vacuum sealing? Like I said im just starting out and trying to learn so dont be too hard on me. :D: Main reason for asking is, that I have already have a sealer. Thanks in advance.
Be sure and read some of the stickies at the top of the page. All kinds of info. I use mylar and o2 absorbers for all my long term storage foods. opinions vary, but I don't have a vacuum sealer.

And welcome to the forum!

·
Not what I appear to be
2,174 Posts
I use Mylar for long term, and vacuum sealer for short term (2 years or less).
The best place I have found for Mylar bags is http://www.discountmylarbags.com/ , they are a member of the SurvivalistBoards site and offer a discount for all suscribers here. Use the discount code Sboards10 to get 10% off, and any order over $50 shipping is free.
I have no afiliation with Discount Mylar bags, I am just a very satisfied customer.

·
Super Moderator and Walking Methane Refinery
68,497 Posts