Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Dog bites - Owner shoots
485 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My apologies for invading the gals hang-out. I am new to activly researching survivalism. I have had it on my mind for a while but just began looking into it. After alot of reading here and in other places, last night I decided to start making some small preparations. I took an empty kitty litter plastic container and put a Buck knife, 250' if 550 cord, 2 cans of tuna and 4 ramen noodles, 2 books of matches and a lighter, a bible, the Army issued survival manual, and aglass jar filled with cotton balls soaked in fingernail polish remover. My wife asked me "what the hell are you doing" and i replied ... "if something goes wrong I want to be prepared" ... needless to say she called me crazy, an extremist ... we got into a fight over the tribulation and end times, world politics ..... wasnt real bad but ...

I guess my question to you is this. How can i relay to her that I want to be prepared to keep my family safe. She says that if the shtf i will be deployed anyway (nat guard for 4 more years) and she will be stuck to fend for herself. She almost makes my position for me... but she looks upon my actions as crazy. Any advice?:confused:

·
Will let you beg for food
793 Posts
Mels:
Personally I think you should approach it not from the world is gonna end point of view but instead take the economic collapse and bad weather route. These are two things that have happened so are very real.
Explain that you know for the next few years that if anything happened you would have to go but you want to go knowing that she is set up with all she needs. And also tell her that stocking up on food (start with cans etc, less scary than mylar bags and mre lol) will save lots of money in the long run. Prices are going up almost daily and buying in cases is a lot cheaper. Help by building shelves or making space so storing the food is an easy task and doesnt make more work for her.