Survivalist Forum banner
  • Are you passionate about survivalism? Would you like to write about topics that interest you and get paid for it? Read all about it here!
1 - 20 of 74 Posts

·
Premium Member
242 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just ordered my very first emergency food item. I intend to buy some each pay period and store in an unused bedroom. I am new at the food part of prepping so any tips would be appreciated. My wife and I also plan on starting a small garden.

Food Ingredient Book Tableware Font

·
Premium Member
242 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Do you live in a single family home with a basement? If so buy an aluminum garbage can with lid, and put the cardboard box in it and leave it in the basement. It needs to be stored away from pests and heat.
Florida here so no basement but I like the can idea for the spare room

·
Jackpine Savage
5,518 Posts
You made a mistake. That is not going to feed 2 people for 72 hours with either flavor that you like or nutrition. Friends don't let friends buy Wise.

I suggest that you spend more time in the food and water section reading. Many of us have already made the mistakes and posted what we learned so others don't.

If this comes off as a bit harsh it really isn't meant to be. I still have a bucket of that stuff laying around myself as well as a bucket of rice and pintos still in store packaging. I keep them as a reminder not to just jump in and buy stuff, to actually look into things.

·
Registered
2,358 Posts
You probably already know, but storage conditions are of the utmost importance. Cool and dry and dark. For everything; ammunition, spare boots, medicines, water, anything you store.

I regularly eat canned food that is years past the ”best by” date. Since you’re fortunate enough to have a spare room for storage, canned food will last a long time, for a lot less $$$. And if you have to, you can drink the water in a can of corn or green beans.

·
Premium Member
242 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·