Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
781 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I thought about posting this in the Farming, Gardening & Recipes area, but I'm hoping the content crosses enough lines that it is okay here.

I've been growing sprouts for a couple of years now, and have learned a lot through trial and error. One of the easiest sprouting seeds to grow is the mung bean. I grow mine in a wide mouth quart canning jar, usually two to three tablespoons at a time. After an overnight soak and one or two rinses for three to four days, the jar is full.

I normally eat the sprouts steamed or in stir fry, but they are also great on sandwiches, with cottage cheese, or in an omelet. I got a little tired of sprouts a while back, so I experimented with adding the beans to soups, and grinding them into flour to add to bread. Mung beans turned out to be very versatile!

This spring I had a little extra room in the garden, and I had been curious about harvesting seeds and saving them, so I decided to plant about a tablespoon worth of mung beans in two six foot rows. I didn't know exactly what to expect, and there were some surprises. After about ninety days I started to see some larger beans. I picked one and as I tried to open it to find the seeds, I discovered a sticky substance surrounding the seeds. It was a lot of effort to get the seeds out without crushing them, and then as they dried they shriveled up to almost nothing. I was pretty disappointed.

A few days later I noticed that some of the beans had turned black and were dried out. I pulled one off and it opened up in my hand and the seeds flew out. The hull was in a spiral shape. I picked up the beans and they were exactly like what I had planted. I picked a few more and set them on a table in the sun. As they dried a little more several snapped open on their own, which was pretty cool after my messy experience with the fresh beans.