Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
USMC Veteran 84 - 01
2,163 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
oakr had asked me to post my experiences at mountain survival school in 96. I agreed to post. You will have to forgive me if this is not that interesting. I am not very good at writing and this was 12 years ago and I am going from memory and what few notes I made back then.

SURVIVAL IS NOT BY CHANCE. SURVIVAL IS A DISCIPLINE. A DISCIPLINE OF ATTITUDE, KNOWLEDGE, SKILLS AND ACTIONS.

I was selected for Mountain Survival school in 96. This is a 7 day course. The first thing to do was to come up with the items they would let me carry with me. The items I was allowed to carry are listed below.

Magnesium firestarter
Container to boil water/ I used an old coffee can
Canteen or Camelbak
Various size fishhooks/sinkers/small spoons and fishing line in qt Ziploc
Snare wire. I used 30# solid steel
200’ 550’ cord also know as Para cord.
Small stainless steel mirror for signaling
Sewing kit
Poncho w/liner
Space blanket and trashbags.