Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
1,412 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay, I'm new to the survival mindset. With that said, I have a long way to go with my preparations.

I envision hyperinflation and a complete economic collapse within the next few years. The Fed is destroying the dollar, and the structure of the short term treasuries almost guarantees that interest rates will not go up. I am tempted to use my credit cards to buy prep items. The problem; it feels like stealing.

I have cards from the "to big to fail" banks. I don't expect these entities to live. The commercial real estate market is headed for a big crash which will take down many more banks, and there are more ARM mortgages that adjust in 2011. I just don't see the government bail out recipients surviving, and they can forget about a bail out in an election year.

I could go on a buying spree and stock up food and secure a source of potable water over the next year. Is it stealing to do so, if I expect these banks to go into default? I expect it will take years for the "to big to fail" banks to be sorted out, if ever, when they go under.

Realistically, the government is stealing from all of us by marching down the hyperinflation path. A part of me wants to get something out of the system before it is destroyed. Another part of me thinks that this is tantamount to stealing from someone.

On a different note, I see my obligations to my family as trumping all other considerations. What kind of a man would I be if I did nothing, while expecting TEOTWAWKI? With an economic collapse, we will have shortages of food, fuel, and eventually, electricity and potable water. The food and the fuel will disappear within a day or two. The power and water will become unreliable, when people realize that their paychecks are worthless.

What would you do in my situation?

·
Registered
55 Posts
I wouldn't do it for one...moral problems.