Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone I found this forum during my research for answers. I am mostly looking for advice on food and any tips you might have for a newbie.

Currently I am looking to buy 2 bucks and 4 does and a 50/50 blend of pure Californians and New Zealands. I will crossbreed for hybrid vigor and with luck get some tasty little 8 week kits. I have a 4x4 pvc cage setup with room to grow should they work out.

My biggest problem is food for the doe and buck but also for the kits. I was told the kits would ween around 6 weeks. The other question is pellets and which are best, also the question is how long will the pellets last? I see a year of problems coming soon and I will stock up on feed before it happens.

I would really appreciate some detailed links but id love any advice possible to help me get this right.

·
Registered
329 Posts
I'm no rabbit expert, but I've heard that rabbits have an extremely small "home territory", and if you could fashion an inclosure that would keep predators out (remember the top too, for hawks and owls) you could sort of free range them like chickens. let them eat grass and move the cage around periodically. again, I've never tried it, but it seems like it would be like putting any other livestock to pasture.

·
Registered
5,613 Posts
Might consider Florida Whites. Its a smaller rabbit but due to its smaller bone structure produces about the same amount of meat when fleshed out weight wise than New Zealands. Smaller rabbit equals less feed for roughly the same amount of meat, smaller cages and a more compact operation. Just a thought worthy of possible consideration...

·
Registered
2,124 Posts
If you're going to crossbreed, use Californian bucks and NZ does. The Cali's are more muscular and compact, while the NZ's are better milkers. When we had our commercial rabbitry, the Californian bucks over the NZ does always gave us the best litters.