Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
90/10 headed for 95/5
7,665 Posts
I'm not an expert, but from what I've seen in the Quebec operations, this is typically a Feb/Mar/Apr endeavour. I think you require cold (as in freezing point) temperatures overnight, which in most areas where Sugar- and/or Black-Maple grow isn't going to happen in June/July, for sap harvesting.

I stand to be corrected, though.

·
Adventurer
19,333 Posts
From my understanding the best time to tap is when the nights get below freezing and they day temps like 40ish

·
I see a bad moon arising
1,267 Posts
I did a little research on it before tapping my soft maples this year.

I read that if you try to collect sap too late in the season -- after
the leaves start to bud, your syrup will taste "buddy".

Here's some links that may help. I found the ohioline.osu link particularly useful.

http://ohioline.osu.edu/for-fact/0036.html
Once the trees begin to break bud, chemical changes within the sap cause syrup to have an unpleasant flavor, often referred to as a "buddy" taste."

http://74.125.155.132/search?q=cach...e+syrup+tastes+buddy&cd=1&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl=us
Buddy syrup usually tastes chocolaty, almost a tootsie roll type flavor.

·
Registered
578 Posts
Did you know that it is not only sugar maples that can be used for syrup? Someone out on Vancouver Island has an operation tapping big-leaf maples and birches for syrup and sugar. Just saw that on Canadian t.v.

·
Registered
5,848 Posts
I was wondering if you can tap maple trees in like june and july for their sap?