Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Interesting discussion on a long car ride home last night with my husband. We have a substantial mortgage that is no problem to pay as long as our employment remains constant. However, we live in a heavily populated suburban area that sits between two very rough cities with more than their share of gang activity, murders, etc. When the inevitable SHTF, I'm sure those fellas will be making their way toward the 'rich folk' to borrow a cup of sugar and more.

I'd prefer not to be here when that day comes, even though we are now armed and prepared to dig in for a long period of time if needed.

I wonder how I go about finding some land with a small house that's far enough away from the populated towns, but close enough that I can still get to work. As a nurse, I can find work anywhere.

The taxes in my state are extortionary, I'd like to research the tax rates of surrounding areas.

Has anyone done this--picked up their life and just moved it further from the unprepared, soon-to-be-hungry and desperate? How did you start?

·
Pastor
1,965 Posts
Go west young woman, go west ;)
Check into northern Nevada, maybe Elko area.
Your skills are needed everywhere.
Nevada is a no state income tax state, and the property taxes are low in the northern part of the state.
Actually, they are fairly low in most of the state, due too the taxation on gambling and prostitution.
I am not advocating the previous, but merely pointing out a reallity of a certian moral degradation.
The areas too the north are mostly mining towns, and the prison system is also a good source of employment.
Not ideal, but viable for your request.

·
Registered
413 Posts