Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi

Am looking at buying one of these three knives - RAT-7; Recon Scout; Fallkniven A2 (or maybe A1?).

I've read up and just can't decide on which one I'd find most useful in general woods work (batoning/chopping/cutting/fire making/shelter making).

I'm leaning slightly toward the A1/A2 at this point. RAT 7 is made in USA, Recon Scout isn't, but its a proven worker, and Fallkniven's from Sweden and the Mora's I have I love.

Thoughts? Am I leaving a good one out?
Thanks

·
Junior Oldie
817 Posts
You've got a tough decision there. My last choice would be the Recon Scout. I think either the RAT 7 or the A2 would both be very good knives, with my own personal tastes leaning towards the RAT -flat grind, full tang, US made. I have no real experience with beating on laminated blades, but it seems the A2 is a quite capable chopper.

I'm sure I won't be the only one to bring this up, but instead of one big knife, would it be possible for you to carry a small hatchet for the chopping and a smaller bladed knife for the other finer chores? A decent hatchet will outchop any of these knives, but isn't always an option. I know that for what I mostly get out in the woods for, a hatchet isn't a choice and it may not be for you, but it is worth considering.

·
Got any beer money?
371 Posts
I could go on and on about the merits of my Rat-7, RTAKII, and RC4 (all designed by Randell Adventure Training), but I wont. Just buy one, you'll love it!

·
Registered
50 Posts
Am I leaving a good one out?
Don't forget about the KA-BAR made Becker Knife & Tool blades. The BK-9 is a hell of a beast, and so is it's smaller cousin the BK-7. Both can be had for $75 or less.

Ontario is just days away from releasing their production line of Justin Gingrich designed Ranger knives. You might want to consider looking at the Ranger RD9 or RD7 as well. These also can be had for $90-$100.