Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, Preppers. I'm looking for some advice from you all. I'm a college student living a 10 hour drive from my family back home. I keep thinking about the worst case scenario if something were to happen and all **** broke loose. I would need to make it from Chicago to South Dakota so I can regroup with my family. To say the least, I'm sure a 10 hour drive in an emergency situation might not be a possibility so I want to be prepared to make it on foot. Any suggestions or ideas for a get home bag?

·
Registered
6,885 Posts
At that sort of distance, you pretty much need to make a BOB. You also should assume in your plan that you will have to walk it and plan accordingly (food, water, etc).

·
Registered
393 Posts
Roughly 700 miles...one thing in summer, a totally different story in winter. There is a ton of info on this site regarding bags and gear, as well as discussions on planning, challenges, dangers, etc.

Using the search feature with some key words like GBH, BOB, winter travel, walking home, etc. will give you enough results to get a wide variety of perspectives on everything related to your question.

Physical conditioning and mental attitude are the first two things that you need to make an honest self-assessment of. At a very optimistic 20 miles a day, you're looking at a solid month of trekking. In a true SHTF situation, it's not going to be a walk in the park. There will be natural and man made obstacles, predators of the human and animal varieties, police or military presence, and extremely limited resources. You can not carry or catch enough food to sustain you on a 700 mile, month long trip in good weather, let alone sub-freezing or sub-zero weather.