Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
478 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

I'm 24 and currently I am studying international relations as a graduate student. My goal is to work for the Federal government, ideally the State Dept., GAO or some military think-tank. That, of course, means working in Washington, D.C. in the long-run, which in turn means living in the D.C. area.

The problems associated with this should be immediately obvious to you. In the event of a nuclear war or nuclear terrorism, D.C. is going to be wiped out. Biochemical attacks are also possible threats.

I have been thinking about this problem a great deal, and would like to solicit some help from you guys in finding a good location in which to live in the next few years when I get my job. The whole area around the Capitol Building and White House is out of the question since that it target #1. Everything east of that is also out since the fallout would drift with the wind in that direction and since that whole area is a craphole anyway.

In Virginia, the Pentagon and CIA HQ will be targets as well, either with 2 different bombs or one big bomb placed equidistant between them. Fort Belvoir and Andrews AFB will also get hit. I'm not sure if urban areas generally will be blown up in the D.C. area.

OK...I don't want to make this too complicated, so here is my question: Assuming that I build a good fallout shelter on my property, is there any place inside the Washington Beltway (I-495) where I could live with some reasonable chance of surviving a nuclear attack that occurs when I'm at home? (Please use Google Maps to view D.C. and the important facilities that will get nuked)

·
Registered
70 Posts