Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
471 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I posted this in another thread but thought this would get more eyeballs with it's own thread.

Any recommendations for a fool proof knife sharpener? I have one of these and it works fine but I'd like something better, I'm not good with a stone.

·
Registered
158 Posts
I have a lansky sharpener. It does good, holds everything tight and has holes for getting the right angle

·
Registered
2,367 Posts
I collect this kind of sharpener, just to show people how useless they are. get on youtube and find one of the hundreds of videos on how to use a set of stones.

lifelong observation: people who think they know how to sharpen a knife don't have a clue. butchers, wood carvers, people who need a sharp knife to perform a task, learn how to sharpen a knife as as a step to another skill. they are the ones to ask, not people who think sharpening the knife is an end to the task.

if the person who claims to be an expert does not vary the angle from the straight part through the curve, he's a bull**** artist. so those sticks that hold the blade at a fixed angle are a joke. you want the curve sharp enough to cut the crossword puzzle from a newspaper without tearing the paper.

if they demonstrate how sharp a knife is by slicing a tomato ninja style, they are a bull**** artist. if they slash a piece of paper and get a massive cut with no tearing, they got it right.

in re oil: if you have stones only for utility knives, use ATF for oil. any is better than none, because none clogs the pores of the stones. if you have stones resevred for food preparation knives, either buy waterstones, or use cooking oil, to keep the knives food safe.

if a stone lets oil puddle in the middle, use another stone to lap it flat.

·
Registered
12,878 Posts