Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was hoping that someone might provide ideas for how to keep warm during winter months in a SHTF situation while living in an urban environment. Burning fireplaces would draw attention to you if you are trying to remain out of sight/out of mind. I am brainstorming how to best prepare for whatever lies ahead. Any ideas are welcomed. Thanks!

·
Registered
3,376 Posts
If you can get access to a propane tank large enough you can do a number of things. I don't know if you are in a house or an apartment. It makes a difference. Fuel is the big thing with heating. YOu have to have something to make heat. How efficient is you home? Can you seal off areas so you are only heating a minimal enclosure?

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I am in a house that probably could be sealed. I'm just starting out, so I'm not too familiar with alternative heat sources.

@ Mr. Young-I want to be sure that my food wouldn't get frozen along with me :)

·
Super Moderator
12,380 Posts
If you want to just keep a few things from freezing, such as food and yourself, a Colman Black propane heater might work for you. It takes the 1# cylinders. It is what I have for just such a purpose. It's safe inside, if you take the least amount of care. You can bring in the cylinders in regular Wal-Mart grocery bag and no one the wiser. Seal off one room, except for adequate ventelation, and keep just it warm. Don't try to keep the entire apartment/house warm. Better yet, get a small tent and set up inside with the things you don't want to freeze inside and heat just it.

Kerosene heaters are another option, especially if you need to keep the bathroom from freezing. Read all safety precautions on any unvented heater you use inside.

·
trois pour cent
5,942 Posts