Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
dirty vegan hippie
431 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I want to make some beef jerky, which I've never done before, so I'm looking up marinade recipes. But a lot of them have teriyaki sauce, and I always thought the sweet taste of teriyaki jerky was pretty nasty, and a lot more have Worcestershire sauce, which I was also never especially fond of, although I don't hate it. It's just a bit strong. I don't even eat my BBQ with BBQ sauce, LOL. I just like the meat taste. I want my jerky to taste like beef. Do I even need a marinade? Should I just salt it? I'd like it if I could find a marinade that subtly enhances the taste, but I don't want it to be sweet or anything. Bleh. D:

·
Registered
90 Posts
if you just want that meat flavor then you can just salt the strips lightly and that will do.

Alternitivly try marinading you meat in soy sauce for 24 hr before you dry them. It will give your meat a slightly ritcher flavor without over powering it if you do that way then thier is no need to salt the meat first cause the soy sauce is quite salty. with your first batch try half just salt and half soy sauce

my personal favorite marinade is 50/50 bbq marinade and soy sause with a few drops of ass reeper chilli sauce for added bite. Then use cocktail sticks to hang the strips from the oven rack put the oven on low like 50-60 oC and prop the oven door open slightly to alow moisture to escape and wait 5-8 hours untill done and enjoy

·
dirty vegan hippie
431 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
Aah, that cocktail stick thing is smart! I shall do that, and I'll try your different salt/marinade suggestions. The spicy BBQ soy sauce mix does sound like it could be good.
Thanks for all the tips! All very helpful!

·
Registered
523 Posts
I use Worcestershire, prepared mustard, Wrights liquid smoke, and Tobasco, and I add onion powder, garlic powder, and anything else that I feel like using.