Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I'm a newbie, so be nice. I just got through reading the Rawles book and several others. I knew I wanted to buy some guns, but growing up as a city boy, the only guns we saw were in the hands of the cops who were chasing us when we were teenagers.

So I researched and followed some advice from the book and from other sources.I decided on getting a:
1) Either a Remington 870 or a Mossberg 500, for security, hunting small game or fowl, and of course for shtf..
2) a handgun, probably a Glock 9mm, for personal protection and stealth if necessary.
3) A 22 rifle for practice and for small game hunting. Wanted to get one which used 22lr ammo and could mount optics.
4) A larger semi auto caliber rifle, either a sks or ak-47 or ar-15.

So I go into my local (rural WI) gun shop browsing for about the fourth time. This place has a good reputation and the guy who owns it never "tries" to sell me anything. He just answers q's and seems very sharp. They also have a gunsmith onsite.

Talking with the owner, he says one of his counter persons husband just died and she wants to sell his guns as she does not use them. So here's what he showed me.

1) A Remington 1100 Magnum, which takes 2 3/4 up to 3" shells. It comes with an extra barrel, which is longer. 12gauge. It looks to be in very good condition. Wood has no marks or scratches or on the rest of the gun either. He says it fires either standard or magnum ammo.
2) A Savage model 60 rifle.22 cal. Takes 22lr ammo. Again, in very good shape.

Owner says his gunsmith went through them thoroughly and that "they are perfect".

Now here's what I really like about the deal: If I buy new, I have to do the paperwork, wait for approval, order guns, pay extra ssr, shipping, tax, etc. If I buy it directly from his employee, he says I would be doing a private sale, directly paying the woman, thereby eliminating all of the above hassle and expense.