Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Banned
807 Posts
yep im a gun newb and those saiga guns dont accept normal ak47 mags( I belive) and alot of people have ak47s.the normal ak 47 mags will be more easy to find when SHTF. so like you im on a budget and check out the norinco hunter ak47. here not priced bad and the accept normalak47 mags. but again i am a gun newb myself and i am about to purchase my first gun (norinco hunter). but from the research i have done the scope mounts are a bit expensive. but I dont plan on putting a scope on it. also for a good budget 3 gun system check out the mossberg 500 JIC and the mosin nagant.
At my gun shop
1 close range/ mossberg 500 jic $400
2 medium range/ norinco hunter 762x39 $550
3 long range/ mosin nagant $120
all 3 have good priced ammo and all 3 can be had for cheap
Good luck on finding the right gun for you.

·
Knife Maker
726 Posts
Yes the Saiga rifle is a Russian made AK...it won't accept hi cap mags without some easy modifications. At the price they are selling for you could put $150.00 in to some basic mods and then they will accept hi cap mags and you would still have less in it than a Chinese AK which will be used any how, You would end up with a BRAND NEW AK 47 not a rifle put together from a 30 year old parts kit. And the Chinese AK's haven't been imported for a long time so most examples of them in the US have been used for years.

·
Registered
5,534 Posts
Exactly what dmac27 said.

Just remember to make the gun 922 compliant if you do the conversion.
Swap out the US made trigger pack and stocks are a good first step and part of the back to original conversion.

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
but since it takes the 30rd surefire mags, even if they are expensive as hell, dont you think i would save money by not converting it and just buying some of those 30rd mags?

·
المتخلف&
5,508 Posts
This is a GREAT budget SHTF rifle, and it's the real deal.