Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 73 Posts

·
What hell, pay attention
8,276 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Came across an interesting and informative thread over on THR called "Things learned from concealed carry matches".

The author was saying that seeing so many carrying "small" guns, and never seeing them practice with them, he came up with a match to test your skills with them, from how you carry them. Sounded like a great idea and a lot of fun too.

From what he was saying, it sounded like a lot of the people shooting the match, at least had some skills at the start, and were not total novice shooters. There were no real caliber restrictions, you could use anything from 22 to 45, etc. The only requirement was, the gun had to fit in a box that would hold a Colt Officers Model.

Heres a few quotes from the OP in the thread....

"Lessons learned:
People don't like performing badly. All of the guys shooting 5 shot 38 specials performed VERY poorly. "

"No one came close to winning with a 45acp. Take that for what it's worth....
On average people shooting physically larger compact guns or smaller small caliber guns (22 lr, 32 ACP) performed better."

"If you are truly a good shooter, you will probably do well with whatever...."

"I will never understand the mindset of people that will continue to carry a gun that they have demonstrated that they can't perform with. You would think it would inspire them to either practice with the gun and continue to compete until they could perform, or switch to carrying a gun they could perform better with. But no......I just don't get it."

If you want to read the whole thread, its over on THR in their "Strategies, Tactics, and Training" section. They touch on a number of good and valid points and the whole thread is a good read.