Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is just a question of legality, if anyone can help me...

We still have an AWB in NY:(

I'm a resident of New York and have owned an SAR-1 for over 6 years now. We can't purchase any mag holding more than 10 rounds here in state. A couple years ago I purchased a number of used, steel 30 round mags, through a website that didn't restrict sale to NY. I think they were Romanian or from some other eastern European country.

Anyways...

From a friend, I hear something about needing to use pre-ban mags, or else I could get in some big trouble. Does anyone know if this is true? And how can I tell if mine are pre-ban mags, there are no markings on them. I even checked the inside.:confused:

So, could I get in trouble getting caught with these 30 round mags? Also, I've got a Tapco folding stock...is that illegal to have on my gun? The laws are confusing to understand, and any clarification may help.

-Thanks!

Attachments

·
Shooter
429 Posts
So called "assault weapons" lawfully possessed prior to September 14, 1994 and "large capacity ammunition feeding devices" manufactured prior to such date are grandfathered

Grey area, hope someone who lives there can clarify for sure.....

·
Diamond Dog
1,504 Posts
I'm here to clarify.

Alright, listen up, take apart the magazines and LOOK ON EVERY SINGLE SURFACE, look for a date.

If there is no date - keep them, they are considered preban.
If there is a date, and its before the AWB date, keep them.
If its a date PAST the AWB, ehm... do what you wish (Legal would be to get rid of them, you decide how to go from there)

Also, with you gun.

Is your gun preban or postban? Like, what is it considered?

If your gun is preban, your fine.

If your gun is postban, that flash hider and folding stock make it illegal.

Reactions: joes

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·