Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 69 Posts

·
Registered
308 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've got a lot of experience with the AR platform, but NONE with AK's and the other day I handled an AK for the first time, and now I've GOT to have one,lol. I realize your'e probably thinking " You waited too long to get one", but I've got some $ burnin' a hole in my pocket,lol. Okay, so I've got a few questions. Is a Galil an AK?, I know that most of the ones I've seen are chambered in 5.56 which is fine by me, and are parts on a Galil interchangable with other AK's, like stocks, handguards,mags,etc.? What in your opinion is the best, most reliable AK on the market?, seems most people like the Arsenals. Are WASR's REALLY that bad?, or is it like the whole Colt-snob thing with AR's and 1911's?. How is the reliability of a 5.56 chambered WASR or Galil compared to the standard 7.62X39?, I'd actually prefer to get another .223 because its still relatively easy to find cheap bulk ammo for compared to X39 ammo. What is the deal with corrosive ammo?, I know that non-corrosive is strongly preferred, but if you clean your rifle properly when done shooting is this stuff okay? I'm asking about the Galil because from what I've seen the prices for these are a good deal less than other AK's. Do Galil's take special mags?,or will a standard AK mag work fine? Okay, I think that about sums up all my questions,lol. Do you think I'd be better off getting another AR?, or expand my arsenal to include one of these battle tested legends? lol. Thanks alot for any responses and knowledge you can share with me guys, I really do appreciate it. Oh, and one more thing, I've completely ruled out getting a .308 because of ammo prices, so either a 5.56, 5.45, or a X39.

·
Banned
1,798 Posts
WASR's aren't bad. I defy someone to tell me they have had their WASR let them down. A WASR now is better than a Yugo you need to save for.

·
I'm the boogey man.......
6,686 Posts

·
Registered
199 Posts