Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Me and my buddies go camping every winter to test ourselves a far as what we have gotten together all year for preparedness. the major problem we are finding is our tents, and really just our basic gear. We seem to be more focused on long term survival than getting the basic tent sleeping bag and cooking equipment optimized. Any ideas would be great i prefer to stick with o.d. green gear when i can basic forest camo isn't a prob though. And last but not least we realized that when the SHTF we probably arn't going to be somewhere where there is a campground style fire pit with a grill so i would like to pick up a portable one also.

Thanks in advance for any ideas you have.

also i am still new to all of this so don't leave out any of the tiny details or basic stuff please :)

most of the time we set and camp in the rain and snow

·
Registered
4,318 Posts
I tent with a tarp overtop.. that way the load isnt on the tent.. and it doesnt get as wet

ive had tarps rip with water on them so tieing them off is important was a very heavy rain storm

·
Stuck in the City...
350 Posts
i was about to buy that trango 3 by hard wear,, i was talked out of it and bought the REI equivalent. saved 150$???ish. i went home and set it up.. it stayed up through high winds for 2 days and rain for 12hours.. not a drop inside the tent.. i was impressed...

i wouldnt worry about a fire ring,,, just gather some rocks and dig a small pit.
you can rent gear from REI,,, this might help you to learn the pros and cons of different gear. also i browse sites like amazon, rei, backcountry and read the customer reviews.

·
Back of beyond!
2,575 Posts
One of the best 4 season tents, believe it or not, is the Cabela's XWT.(extreme weather tent). It is reasonably priced, and it holds up to very strong winds,approaching hurricane force. Its tight and solid, sealing out heavy, wind-driven rain.

·
Doomsayer