Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Desperta Ferro!
2,292 Posts
I've never heard of a laptop that didn't have an internal sound card, is that a thing?
They are all integrated on the motherboard these days, hardwired and embedded in the mobo.
I've repaired over 10k laptops in the past 25 years, mostly Dells, HP's and a few Acers, Toshibas and Sonys to boot. They used to be a separate riser card / daughterboard, but no longer is that true. Video is also integrated, however, WIFI / Bluetooth is a separate card, nearly identical in size (but thicker) than a cell phone sim card, or SD memory card.

Maybe I'm just a poor schlub with no base station and only a pair of HT's, but all the guys at the 2 main radio clubs here in the capitol of our state use CHIRP for programming. When in Rome...

But I digress. I'm only a novice.
I defer to your greater knowledge base.

·
Desperta Ferro!
2,292 Posts
It's moreso the lack of both a physical mic jack and as well as headphones jack. Most new-ish laptops only have a single jack. The radio world uses a USB soundcard dongle as a workaround for this problem .

The older laptops (CF19 included) have both mic/phones jacks on the onboard soundcard. I did a poor job of articulating this earlier, so thanks for pointing it out.
Why not just use Bluetooth earbuds or headset and use the 1/8th inch TRS jack for the wired mic?

·
Desperta Ferro!
2,292 Posts
For what purpose would you need a headset?

Digital radio modes send glorified fax machine noises to each other. Lots of buzzing and boops and R2D2 noises. The 3.5mm cables are the highways for that digital noise:

-- The "mic" cable takes the fax noises the radio receives, and feeds it to the laptop. The laptop then deciphers the fax noises.

-- The "Phones" cable takes the laptop output noises (ie. the message you want to send) and feeds it out to the radio. The radio then blasts it over the airwaves.