Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How to recognize a possible infection early

This information is useful for every day, not just when SHTF or TEOTWAWKI.

As an emergency nurse I am evaluating every patient I come into contact with for signs and symptoms of infection, whether it is external or internal. SIRS (systemic inflammatory response syndrome) is a possible indication of a more serious condition known as sepsis, which can lead to severe sepsis and septic shock.

If a patient has a medical complaint that indicates a possible infection, such as abdominal pain, then these vital signs might give you an indication if the cause is an acute appendix or just gastritis (tummy ache).

In adults, SIRS is to be considered if the patient has two of the three vital signs out of range.

Temperature is <36 °C (96.8 °F) or >38 °C (100.4 °F)
Heart Rate is >90 beats per minute
Respiratory Rate is >20 breaths per minute

measuring the last is not possible outside a clinical setting
White Blood Cell count <4,000 or >12,000 or 10% bands

If these vital signs are outside of norms and the patient's chief complaints indicate a possible source of infection, then additional labs and diagnostic testing might be needed to find a source of infection and confirm the possibility of sepsis. Sepsis is a potentially life-threatening condition caused by the patient’s response to an infection. An infection causes our bodies to release chemicals into the bloodstream to fight infection. Sepsis occurs when our body's response to these chemicals is out of balance, triggering low blood pressure that can damage multiple organ systems.