Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
755 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
In light of the possibility of the democrats might get back into office or even while under republican administration the state decides to declare marshall law and confiscate weapons in the case of a natural disaster, hurricane, earthquake and so forth how would one go about burying a few firearms to keep them safe for future use if others got confiscated. If I needed it 5 years from now I want it to still be functional. I was thinking cover in axle grease inside and out then rap in garbage bag and bury. I have no idea if this is good or if this will work that is why I am asking.

·
Registered
195 Posts
I'm not an expert in burying things, but I think a strong metal box would work. A welding shop could make you one. You could also use a safe or large toolbox. Take the guns apart to make them smaller to pack. Grease and lubricate all the parts very well. Put the small parts in zip-lock bags and wrap the large parts in a lot of plastic wrap. You could vacuum-seal the small parts if you have a vacuum machine. You could try using automotive weather stripping to waterproof the door on the box. Wrap the whole box in layers of plastic wrap and tape. Make sure the box has strong hinges and a strong lock. Bury the box a few feet underground and mark the spot in some way (maybe place a large rock or plant a tree over the box).

·
Registered
49 Posts
well depending on what type of firearms they are you can purchase "drysacks" from brigade quartermasters in kennesaw ga they also have a website you can go to and put a silica gel absorber in with it,as far as what to put them in there are all kind of waterproof containers to put them in. for my m-4 i would break it down and use a 120mm mortar ammo can that you can purchase from most army navy surplus supply depots they also sell them on www.sportsmansguide.com

·
infowars.com
421 Posts
i have plastic trash cans buried with supplys