Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, I am fairly new to the whole prepping deal. But I went out and started getting what I could get. Here's a list of what I have so far - equipment and food & water included. Where do I need to improve, where am I set for good?

My ultimate goal is 1 year for 5 people. But I'm working towards 6 months first. My preps thus far are all long-term food storage in 5 and 6 gallon buckets done with Mylar and the whole shebang.

Food in Pounds:

Rice - 100
Sugar - 100
Flour - 100
Wheat - 180
Pinto Beans - 120
Lentils - 130
Salt - 25

Add to that about a dozen mountain house #10 cans from a few years back

Water - 1 month supply at 2/gal per person per day. 2 months if 1/gal/person/day

Equipment -

Aqua Rain Water Filter. And a Berkey on the Go filter (can't remember the model)
Wonder mill Jr. Deluxe grain grinder
And my dad just picked up some stove that they use in Africa, its small but you can throw twigs in there and start cookin' no problem. I forget what it is called.

I think I'm off to a pretty good start but I would like some advice. One concern I have is the "eat what you store" philosophy. My family eats mostly fresh foods. We aren't big on canned goods minus tomato sauce. And we dont have a garden, even if we did out land isn't well suited with light and area. How can I get around this, or work with it?

Thanks for the input!!

·
Forum Administrator
16,730 Posts
Looks like your off to a good start.

something I would add to your stocks is some kind of home based water filter, like a berkey.

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Looks like your off to a good start.

something I would add to your stocks is some kind of home based water filter, like a berkey.

Yep, thanks I forgot to include my water filter. I knew I was missing something!

·
Registered
92 Posts
Here are my tips:

- yeast if you make bread
- powdered milk, juice, tea, coffee