·
Super Moderator
CRAP CREEK SURVIVOR
2,531 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)

·
Registered
187 Posts
Thanks for starting this thread. I was just getting ready to post some questions about home care. We're setting up a spare bedroom to care for at least two people, in anticipation of the hospitals filling up. I hope to God we don't both get sick at the same time as we have dogs to care for which is going to complicate things considerably if we're both bedridden and isolated.

I have ZERO experience doing anything like this so I want to compare notes with you guys. I read this Lancet article to get an idea of what patients go through.

The spare bedroom is a little room that is usually a home office. It has one door to an interior hallway and another to the backyard. We sealed off the HVAC vent and we're going to try to keep that interior door closed and make the room as self-contained as possible. We don't have a clothes washer so we're using old linens and clothes that can be thrown away.

So far in the room we have two cots, each with its own night stand, trash can, and small bookcase. Each nightstand has a lamp, hand sanitizer, a clock with timer/alarms (for reminders of when to take meds), kleenex, thermometer, pulse oximeter, flameless candles (in case of a power outage), baby wipes, hand lotion, ear plugs and an eye mask for sleeping, oral rehydration packets, cough drops, ibuprofen, acetaminophen, lip balm, Robitussin, and Vicks Vaporub. Edit: and a vomit bucket (small plastic trash can from the Dollar Store) with liner.

Each bookcase has drinking water, a tea kettle, disposable cups/bowls/cutlery, herbal teas, snacks, vitamins, books, notebooks and pens, toothbrush/toothpaste/mouth wash.

The closet has more food, extra linens, several changes of clothes, extra batteries, trash can liners, paper towels, a HEPA filter, drinking water, distilled water (for the humidifier), disinfectant wipes and sprays, books, etc.