Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Sorry guys, if you've answered this a million times before, but grateful if you'd indulge this newbie.

I have no prior shotgun experience but have narrowed it down to the 870 vs the 500. I'm leaning toward the 18.5" 870 pump action. But wonder whether the recoil of a 12 ga is too much to ever make a 2nd shot worthwhile for a 145 pounder like me. Is a 20 ga a poor choice for home defense? A friend tells me that 20 ga is unpopular and shells are harder to come by than 12s. True?

One visit to my local Pop gun shop and I'm told anything's hard to get right now. I live in the People's Republic of California: can I buy online and have it shipped to a local gun shop?

Thanks.

·
I Sleep with my Boots ON!
1,302 Posts
Both of your choices are good ones and comes down to preference. I'm a Mossberg fan and own a few different models, for pumps, I love my 590A1. The 870 is never a bad choice, great shotgun.

A 20GA is a very good HD shotgun with the proper round, same holds true for the 12GA but even more so with the 20. My wife weighs less than you and has shot all my shotguns with no problem. They make Low-Recoil rounds now that are very manageable to shoot for about anyone that isn't trigger shy..

·
Registered
443 Posts
Well my suggestion is to get to a range and try them out, Ive shot plenty of deer with a 12ga slug barreled Ithaca 37, I wouldnt call the 20ga unpopular I think with the right load the 20ga. will be OK...............But see if you can try them both. Just my 2cents.

·
Registered
577 Posts