Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Grumpy Old Curmudgeon
341 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone,

I am "MedicineMan". Actually that's just my CB handle that I've used for 16+ years and during my career as an over-the-road truck driver.
I'm known, or was, across the nation by many drivers as that name, so I chose it as my "nick" or "handle" with other groups and on the internet.

It derives from my Choctaw heritage and the fact that I was an EMT at the time it was bestowed upon me. (traditionally you do not choose your "handle", it's chosen by others who know you)

I became interested in Survival at the young age of 12 after reading "The Adventures of Tom Sawyer" and thinking what sort of other things would have been needed to stay indefinitely on that Island in the river.

I continued this line of thought all through High School, and became interested in the "Fallout Shelter" type of survivalism as tensions with the former USSR got worse.
Antoher lesser influence was the wonderful string of "disaster flicks" during the 1970's.

In 1982, on the very day of my Seventeenth Birthday, I was in Jackson, MS for my Army Physical.
I learned many things in the Army, good AND bad.

Then in 1984 Patrick Swayze, Charlie Sheen, C.Thomas Howell, Lea Thompson, and a list of other young "hardly knowns" were flashed across the big screen for a Generation to see in the movie "RED DAWN".
We were suddenly introduced to the possibility that 1) there might someday be a war ON AMERICAN SOIL, and 2) We might be the underdogs and have to fight Guerilla Style.
The "plans" and lists, and bugout locations, and tactics began to be discussed and thought out and planned.

Then life took over for a while, and even though I didn't actively pursue Survivalism, it was always there in the back of my mind.

Soon though, the world I lived in started to seem just a little bit "off".

I saw a man, one who was living "MY" backcountry dream, attacked by a literal ARMY of fed cops.