Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a college student who is into adventure and travel. I think it would be a lot of fun to hike the pacific crest trail, not part of it but the whole thing in one trip. Has anyone here done this?? I am guessing that it would take about 115 days. But the supplies needed could provide a problem. I have little information and any would help.
Thanks all,
Mr. Jones :whip:

·
Back of beyond!
2,575 Posts
Mr. Jones, I've only hiked parts of it when I lived in so.California. But a friend of mine did. It was QUITE an undertaking! It took him 6 months. He started out near Campo,CA.
And he averaged about 17 miles a day. Depending upon weather, it could even take longer. (not including time off to rest).
It's too late in the season now to do it. You would have had to leave by the end of April, from the south end of the trail, to make it feasible.

Your main obstacle would be heavy snow in Oregon and WA. during the fall. In all likely hood, you'd not make it to the termination of the trail in WA state. It's 2,650 miles long.

·
Registered
6,689 Posts
There is a website that gives alot of information on hiking the trail. Can't remember the name, though. You might try searching for it.

·
Registered
1,539 Posts
Mr. Jones, I've only hiked parts of it when I lived in so.California. But a friend of mine did. It was QUITE an undertaking! It took him 6 months. He started out near Campo,CA.
And he averaged about 17 miles a day. Depending upon weather, it could even take longer. (not including time off to rest).
It's too late in the season now to do it. You would have had to leave by the end of April, from the south end of the trail, to make it feasible.

Your main obstacle would be heavy snow in Oregon and WA. during the fall. In all likely hood, you'd not make it to the termination of the trail in WA state. It's 2,650 miles long.