Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Scarred for life...
3,295 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I sometimes volunteer my time working with other people to discuss problems of interest to us all. There is no pay but overall I find the work very rewarding and fulfilling.

I work sometimes with a fellow who is one of those know-it-alls.

He is an electrician by trade and I have no doubt he knows more about wiring a house than I ever will, but he just gets off on contributing to a discussion in which he knows nothing and pretending he is an expert.

Never mind that I or someone else has a degree in something, he thinks he knows more about it and will go to the point of becoming belligerent when someone says something and he wants to sound like an expert.

I guess that’s it. No matter what I say I am wrong unless I am agreeing with him. And even then he will sometimes change his story just so he can tell me I am wrong for agreeing with him!!!

I don’t know why this bothers me so much, but it does.

I think most of the people around us, who hear these conversations think the same way I do but pretty much everybody is afraid of saying something or stating a fact because he will jump in and tell them they are a fool and stupid.

I have tried to just not get involved with this guy at all and sometimes this works. But later he will jump on someone else and they will run to me and Ill get dragged into a fight all over again.

Lately I have resorted to looking things up online and printing (to support a statement) them out quickly to shut this guy up but it only makes him furious to be made to look stupid in front of everyone and these are the times he gets the most belligerent.

In these discussions, and in my relationship to this group of people I know a little about a lot and a lot about a very few things but what I know I know and I get so tired of wasting 1/3rd of my time arguing extremely simple things with this guy.