Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
3,022 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to guns. I have a Mosin Nagant and a Ruger 10/22.

The Mosin Nagant is in pieces. I took it apart to clean it, but I do not really know anything about it. I have a manual that tells how to take it apart but that is it.

I need instructions on how to care for guns. People say you need to oil the gun, but that means absolutely nothing to me. What parts do I oil? How do I clean the barrel? What else do I need to clean? How do I clean it? How often? If it jams, what do I do? Etc. I need to know everything. It seems like every source I can find assumes a great deal of knowledge on the part of the gun owner.

Any good sources of info on the net? How do I get educated pronto? Time is short.

·
Registered
3,376 Posts
Dear Dar:

the one you have to be concerned with is the Mosin Nagant. The ammo is very corosive. that means after you shoot it the barrel needs to be cleaned really really well. THe same thing applies to the old Brits in 303. the Brits used to pour hot soapy water through the barrel of their guns to stop the corrosive effects of the ammo. When you clean your guns be sure to clean the barrels with something like Gun Scrubber (A cleaner solvent) You should use a bore brush to break loose any of the residue left behind by shooting. clean your chamber like wise. After you have cleaned the gun and wiped it down. Go over it and in the barrel with a light gun oil. You are trying to prevent rusting. It would be best if you had the people who sold you the guns go over the take down and reassembly process as well as review the cleaning with you. I have Nagants myself. Be careful they can become addictive.