Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
<><><><><><>
93 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
If you look on eBay you'll see a gazillion "kits". Are these kits really necessary? I'm trying to get ideas on what I really need and what is a waste of money. I own one 12 gauge shotgun (just got) and one Ruger 10/22 coming soon. I will also have a small pistol in time.

I'm fairly new to gun ownership and do not have any cleaning tools yet.

What do you recommend? A whole "kit", or purchase items that I really need separately?

Please provide any links if you can so I know what you're talking about. :thumb:

Thanks!

·
357 Mag, sex for the hand
439 Posts
Ive used gun specific kits and as my collection grew so did my needs, so I went to Otis Technology route. One kit gives me everything I need to clean .17hmr all the way up to .50BMG to .410 to 12gauge, its compact and neat organized and just handy.

That is the exact kit I have and I have had it since summer 2009 and inculdes a lot of nice features that you would have to buy seperate to single caliber kits

http://www.otisgun.com/pc_product_detail.asp?key=42C53F70C0A941A2B942452A4E83C9CF

At a $140 it might have the inital sticker shock, I feel it is worth every penny though.

You buy this once and never need another cleaning kit agian for other firearms you may acquire at a later date.

Another product that just makes life easy would be the bore-snake

http://www.brownells.com/.aspx/pid=9687/Product/BORE-SNAKE

I use Hoppes #9 solvent and CLP lube for internal gun parts cleaning and lubing.

I have read amazing things about Slip 2000 weapons lube as well, look up "Filthy 14" with Pat Rogers

·
Have gun,will travel
4,538 Posts