Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been telling my wife for the past several years we need to start gardening.To save money on the grocery bill and to eat heathier.I've never gardened before.My parents did some when I was growing up.And I would help some but never really learned that much about it.I live on 3 acres in the country.My house,shop and yard take up about 1 acre.The other 2 acres are wooded.I don't want to dive in head first and spend a bunch of money(which i don't have).I figure starting out with something smaller like a 20x40 or 30x60.The problem is not knowing exactly how big I need.I have a family of 4.But I would also like to be able to can/jar for the winter months.I have a storm shelter that is under ground and stays cool and dry year round that would be a good storage area.So here comes the questions from the green horn.How big of a garden do you think I need?Can someone explain raised beds to me?Does anyone have info or links on how to build raised beds?Are there any good books or websites that you would recommend for a newbie?And last but not least,where do you buy your seed?Sorry for all the questions but I want and need to learn alot.Thanks Tradrick

·
Registered
246 Posts
Hi, and welcome.

So many people here are great gardeners - a quick search of the archives will be really informative for you.

I have a couple of questions for you...

What's the soil like in your proposed garden spot?
What USDA zone are you?
How much sun does it get?
Do you have a friend who has a horse stable/ landscaping company/ arborist company/ vineyard/ lumberyard/ etc etc...they are great sources of free soil amendments.

Now is a good time to start layering on the amendments and let winter do the breakdown for you.

HTH I will be back with more 'wisdom' after this message from our sponsors hehe.

:)

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·