1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
18,814 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

·
Premium Member
2,790 Posts
I am not a knife expert, but one thing I would want in any fixed blade knife, including a backup, is a full length tang (like the primary one you mention).

One thing I like about your backup over the primary is the lack of any fastener mid-handle. Under heavy use these can lead to blisters.

Cheers,
Per.

·
Founder
16,869 Posts
Would you care to do a review of it and post some pictures?

·
Registered
18,814 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Kev, I'll post some pictures and a review when I get the time. I still haven't used it much, so I'd like to see how it does in wet conditions. I'll post them after my next camping trip.

But heres a link that convinced me to purchase one. http://www.backpackgeartest.org/rev.../Gerber Back-Up/Owner Review by Ray Estrella/

Young, thats what I was thinking. I've been using the Trident for a while now, and I haven't experienced anything negative with it. I even own a couple of Gerber task lights. (One red led and one white led) Gerbers becoming my favorite brand.

SOLIDUS

·
Premium Member
2,790 Posts
I too like the Gerber. Attached is a picture of my Gerber hunting knife. Been to hell and back and has always performed when asked to.

Attachments

·
Loup-Garou
83 Posts
Solid- since you're in Sweden, and working with the military- ask the lads where you can get a hold of a F1 or S1, and an AK-4 Bayonet.

F1 should be standard issue with some regiments, and the AK-4 Bayonet is excellent for those heavier jobs. ;)

·
Loup-Garou
83 Posts
Yup, I had them both- gave the F1 away to me dear old dad. Never really used the AK4 for anything other then poking around, and splitting wood.