Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings, I hope I am posting this in the correct forum section as I am looking for advice regarding a SHTF scenario. First some background.

I am a lead game designer in a team of game developers in Europe that are working on a game that will feature a very strong survivalist element, we aim to make it as realistic as possible within the game world so I seek advice from you. The game will be a 3d game with an isometric style overhead view. The core of the game is asymmetric squad based tactical combat.

The Background story

The background narrative goes like this. In the near future (20 years from now or so) the world has been thrown into chaos and and disorder following the total collapse of the global economic system, peak oil and the dwindling resources have caused a more hostile environment with widening gaps between the lower and upper classes. On top of this, a close and contested election in the USA causes nationwide riots and disorder, worse comes to worse and civil war breaks out in the US. Some states separate from the union and form their own alliances to protect themselves and their own interests. Both sides in the civil war believe they are fighting the just cause and the war goes on for a while. But since so much of the world economy is dependent on USA, there is a common interest in the world community to stabilize the nation. and since the UN cannot enter a nation unless invited by its government it gets an invitation by the US govt (which by the way is not recognized by some of the states that have declared independence). Much like as with Afghanistan the international community invades to bring peace and stability to a war torn nation, but encounter resistance from the locals.

The Scenario