Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
TL;DR: I imagine the forums here are being swamped by basic respirator questions at the moment due to world events. I think my questions are a bit beyond the basics which may explain why I haven't had much luck finding any answers despite searching over the past few days and trawling old forum posts etc. I apologize for the wall of text here fellas but if anyone has the time, i'd appreciate any insight on the subject!

I've had some experience with using half face masks for hobby projects over the past few years. I've been wanting to upgrade to a full mask for use on projects for awhile and was planning on doing it the right way by going to a local ppe outfitter and trying different masks + fit tests. Unfortunately, I didn't pull the trigger on an upgrade until two weeks ago due to the virus situation. I realize it may have been irrational but I wanted to avoid buying one locally in hopes of reducing exposure risk. I'm pretty sure that buying a full face online is a gamble in terms of ensuring a proper fit test and was hoping to learn more about the science of a fit test and if there are any options for me to pursue.

To reduce the risks of buying online, I checked a few of the different manufacturer's websites to find a licensed vendor to order from. I checked out honewell, 3m and mestel. Mestel concerned me because I couldn't find any official vendor list from them plus I seen that there were quite a few masks for sale online that looked identical to the mestel 400/3 but it was labeled as something else and alarmingly varying prices below retail. The only mask I managed to find out of the three was a 3M FF-400 series. The FF-400 concerned me because there isn't much discussion/info about this on forums so i'm unsure if it is unpopular or other issues I may be unaware of.