Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How do they really taste?

Specifically pasta primavera, mac n cheese and rice pilaf??

I'm looking for vegetarian options, but I've never had freeze dried entrees.

Thanks for any input!

·
Registered
371 Posts
I've been using freeze-dried foods for over 25 years (mostly for backpacking), and I've found some to be very good, while some are too salty or spicy for my tastes.

Flavor-wise, while it's not usually the same as fresh, many foods can taste pretty darn close !

IMO, it's really an individual thing.

I would suggest you try out a few different brands and see what works for you.
You may want to look closely at the ingredients before purchasing, to see if there's anything in there that you wouldn't like. Then, give some a try!

I really like being able to order various ingredients separately, then throw meals together myself.

Perkolady

·
Renegade Vegan
175 Posts
Sounds like you're looking at Mountain House. For vegetarian options, I'd say skip them and go to Backpacker's Pantry. They have many vegetarian and even vegan options. Some of our favorites are Thai Spicy Peanut Sauce, Louisiana Red Beans & Rice and Katmandu Curry. All taste great during a week in the forest. :thumb:

There is one big drawback with Backpacker's Pantry, they don't sell bulk or #10 can quantities. Most of the flavors are only available in 2 serving pouches, with a couple in 4 serving pouches. I had both the Mountain House pasta primavera and mac n cheese back when I ate dairy products. Both were very tasty and filling.

In general, I haven't come across too many bad tasting freeze dried products. My main complaint is the high sodium in most of them. Between the bits that don't completely rehydrate and the sodium, they can leave you thirsty and drinking a lot of water after. Of course, water is the first thing to sort out anyway when prepping.

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #5