Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone here have a BS in Forest Management or Forestry? I am thinking of going this route and wondered if anyone on here could shed some light on this profession... Any input is greatly appreciated!

By the way... GREAT SITE!! I have been an avid camping/backpacking/hunter/survivalist for 6 years now and can't seem to get enough.

·
Registered
510 Posts
No, I can't. But I can say I wish I would have done this. I have a Bachelor's in CJ and wish I would have went Forestry. I just love the outdoors and forests. Plus, a degree is a degree for some jobs.

·
Registered
18,814 Posts
My buddy does. He also has a biology twist in there though. He spends his days walking through the woods counting trees. Best job in the world.

·
*** Bless America
480 Posts
Do it man! My community college offers a degree in that and I have buddies pursuing it, and the stuff they do is so cool. 50% class work, 50% in the field, hands-on stuff. I took a fire ecology class for a what-the-heck class and it was awesome. Its probably bigger out here (front range, colorado, rocky mtns.) than some places, but its some way cool stuff. People getting paid obscene amounts to live in Rocky Mountain National Park room and board taken care of for the summer and monitor frogs? Deal! Count me in.

·
Registered
18,814 Posts
Again, try to get as much science in there as possible. That is what will give you a solid future and past the frog and tree counting during the summers that you will do when you are younger.

·
To the Liberty Tree!
1,312 Posts
My husband did but instead of going into forestry he went into arboriculture. He spent a couple years as a grunt hauling brush, then he got the foreman position and was up in the trees doing the cutting. He is now a consulting arborist and spends all day on people's property telling them what their trees need and giving quotes. Fantastic cash if your good with sales!

·