Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All, Newbie here.

I'm looking for ideas for food that I can store that has a very long shelf life. At least 5 years.

My plan is to set asside a corner of my garage and spend a couple of weekends gathering about 5-6 large storage boxes woth of supplies. I want to be able to put everything together and "forget about it" for 5 years or more. I will not be rotating foods in/out, etc.

I'm looking for reccomendations for food that will last a minimum of 5 years under such conditions. I plan to pack in mylar with O2 absorbers. I don't need to eat well, but my goal is to store enough for my family to survive 90days or more.

EDIT: List has been updated with suggestions from SB members

Cool dry storage with 5+ year shelf life
- Rice
- Pasta
- Sugar
- Salt
- Baking soda
- Canned fruits + tomatoes
- Canned meat - Tuna, Ham, SPAM, etc (5 years will be pushing it)
- Canned entrees - Chili, Ravoli, Soup, etc (5 years will be pushing it)
- Flour and/or whole wheat berries
- Oats
- Cornmeal
- Assortment of Spices, Pepper, etc
- Dried beans of some sort
- Powdered Milk
- Powdered Eggs
- split peas
- vinegar
- dried potato slices
- Pilot bread
- Dehydrated vegtables (max 3% moisture content)

Deep Freeze Storage with 5+ year shelf life:
- Vegtable oil
- Yeast

Luxary Items with 5+ year shelf life (cool dry storage):
- coffee
- tea
- honey

Can you reccomend anything else? Thanks!

·
Grevcon 10
5,792 Posts
Add;
split peas
dried spices
coffee
tea
whole wheat berries (to grind into fresh flour)
yeast
vinegar
oil
salt
pepper
dried potato slices

Consider adding a canner & canning jars & canning lids & a dehydrator so you can purchase fresh in bulk & preserve yourself. Of you can grow and preserve yourself.

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Add;
split peas
dried spices
coffee
tea
whole wheat berries (to grind into fresh flour)
yeast
vinegar
oil
salt
pepper
dried potato slices