Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Premium Member
9,224 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here on this forum. Question about food storage and preventing pests.

How does one prevent worms, moths and other pests in dry goods such as flour, rice, etc? I'm having a real problem with this. The pests are coming inside the sealed food packages from various stores. How do I kill/prevent these critters in long-term food storage?

I freeze the rice and pasta and keep the rest in air conditioned, indoor storage.

Your advice and direction to info. about this on this forum are welcome.

·
Registered
205 Posts
How long are you freezing the rice and pasta?

Are you keeping the food in the bags they were in at the store?

·
Founder
16,867 Posts
How does one prevent worms, moths and other pests in dry goods such as flour, rice, etc? I'm having a real problem with this. The pests are coming inside the sealed food packages from various stores. How do I kill/prevent these critters in long-term food storage?
You may be referring to weevils. But I have never heard of a weevil turning into a moth????

Vacuum seal the products you can. The rest, like beans and rice, put the packages in a deep freezer for a week or so. This is the reason why I do not buy 50 pound bags of stuff.

This is how I store my beans, rice, and some pasta - Put the bags into the freezer, leave for a week or 2, spread some towels over the kitchen table, remove frozen bags and put them on the towel. There might be some frost on the bags, the towels will help dry any moisture off the outside of the bag. Then store as usual.

But, some people swear by the vacuum sealed mylar bags.

Personally, I disagree with the mentality - "I have 2 years of vacuum sealed beans, rice, pasta, flour,,,,,,,,."

·
Registered
678 Posts
I have read about 'pantry moths' but never seen them. I'd suggest you search on them to back up what I remember.