Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all, I am fairly new to the survivalist scene and would like a few recomendations. First of all I have the guns portion mostly covered (308 ar, 9mm,45, .357 compact and a 12ga shotgun, I need a good 22). I am currently getting my BOB ready. A little about my situation is I live in south MN in a town of about 1200 approximatly 30 min away from any actual city.

·
Capability, not scenarios
11,964 Posts
Water first, always.

Then food.

You have defense largely figured out.

In MN you'll also need to prep ways to stay warm in winter should the grid go down or whatever normal heating system you have breaks down.

Work on making sure you can survive 3 days, then a week, then a month, then three months, etc. Each time you reach a threshold you have increased the number of "events" you can survive.

Welcome, and good luck!

·
Super Moderator and Walking Methane Refinery
68,571 Posts
What is it that you're asking for recommendations on? There's a lot of ground to cover, so it's helpful to know what direction you're trying to take.

I second Goose3 with "water first". That's the one thing that a lot of folks put off or give little thought to. I can't count the number of "I have a year's supply of food and a case of water" type posts I've seen. Yet water is FAR more important than food. You can live a month without food, but only a couple days without water.

·
Limpin to safety.
7,639 Posts
308 ar? Dude, you rock! I'm a little jealous, but in a good way. .308 is an excellent bullet. One of my favorites, I kid you not. I am a Gun lover. I love how a 30/30 can be reloaded with out gas checks, I love how a .22 can down a deer, man, or bear if placed in the right hands, but that's me side tracking... sorry.

OK, so your new right? Well the first thing you need to do is figure out what you have, what you need, and where you want to go.