Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Well, just signed up for this board.

Live in Los Angeles (yeah I know, but read on...)

I would consider myself more into city self-reliance

Aside from being an illustrator/graphic artist, I teach outdoor and wilderness skills adapted to the urban environment. Basically how people can become more self-sufficient and prepared for emergencies in a large city. This include, for example, how to complement a diet with wild food, solar cooking, growing food in-house or apartment, preparedness, Hygiene (making organic soap with stuff you find in stores or nature), water purification, gourmet wild food, etc...

Presently I teach kids in a couple of schools each week for a few hours and give some classes here and there during the weekend. Attendance is somewhat sporadic but I'm having a lot of fun teaching those skills. My goal is really to help people becoming more prepared and self-sufficient in a large city - there are some economic benefits to it (half of my diet is apartment-grown/wild food and thus pretty much free) but the main benefit would be people who would not fall into the category of "complete victim" in case of usual local emergencies such as earthquakes or wild fires which are common over here.

Being an avid competitor in long distance shooting competitions, I also teach marksmanship, mostly for new people wanting to get into that discipline.

My web site is:

www.UrbanOutdoorSkills.com

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Welcome. That sure is an unusual array of skills and interests. As another who lives in a big city it will be interesting to read what you post.
Yeah, I know...LOL!!!!

Check the web site I mentionned (www.UrbanOutdoorSkills.com) and it has a bit more overview on the subject.