Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
149 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first time around, and I'm on a bit of a budget. Later on when I have more expertise, and know how to spend it ... I'll put more money in. For now ... mid-range, not-junk is fine.

So, I'm building an AR carbine, for (hopefully never) defensive use under 200m.

I am considering the Vortex SPR-200 Spitfire Prism Scope 1x-AR.

http://www.vortexoptics.com/product/vortex-spitfire-ar-1x-prism-scope

I like this design, and the convenience of AAA battery usage. It's important for it to to be 1x so I can have both eyes open while engaging. And the street price of $249 sounds about right for my budget.

Am I on the right track here? Is this the right tool for the job? Have others had a good experience with this optic?

Thanks,
--K

·
Third World'er Lunatic
16,245 Posts
vortex sparc, red dot. Burris prism 332 3X catch the deal right, you get a free fastfire holo, the burris, even with a dead batt you have a black etch rect. Replace it with a Trijicon ACOG later.

·
Registered
149 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
vortex sparc, red dot. Burris prism 332 3X catch the deal right, you get a free fastfire holo, the burris, even with a dead batt you have a black etch rect. Replace it with a Trijicon ACOG later.

I looked at all the options and gave the ones suggested here a second look, and went ahead and got the spitfire AR ... same feature w dead battery, you still have the reticle ...

But an ACOG might be under the Xmas tree this year!

Good input from everyone, thanks!

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

·
Banned
11,403 Posts