Survivalist Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Any welders out there or firemen..

Why do people in active fire zones not cover their homes in something like a welding blanket or fire blanket and wet the damned thing down.

Remember the old saying "A wet blanket".

I cannot imagine that this would not be effective against all but a flame burning right up against the dwelling

I have used a "wet blanket" many times in my life to put out a fire.

Imagine a roll of fabric at the peak of your dwelling and a system to allow it to unroll and fall down the roof and sides of the building. Then a system to wet it down so that any embers falling on it would simply be extinguished.

What say ye....

·
Registered
965 Posts
im a firefighter here in Tucson and we do alot of wildland stuff, alot of the times even just the heat will catch the contents on fire before the actual fire even touches the house, so the blanket wouldnt realy do much, not to mention it would be heavy and expensive and hard to deploy over a whole house. Those are the main reasons i can think of.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
It wouldn't need be expensive, Just something like a towel that could be soaked down and would absorb water. I big beach wet beach towel over the dwelling.

Something the size of a ship's sail made of bath towel material would be affordable.

Add up the cost of the blankets in your home and the square footage they could cover and this should be a good measure. Remember getting the thing soaked is the key in my opinion

·
Those were the days....
4,542 Posts
But you`d still need to wet it down. Might be better off with a sprinker system of some sort, maybe that could draw out of your pool.

·
optimistic pessimist
1,221 Posts
What about sheets soaked in borax, boric acid and then allowed to dry and then draped over structures. Definitely cheaper if you get the old sheets from yard sales.

Reactions: louv512

·
Banned
130 Posts