Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Dirty Mind
3,209 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have not experience with higher-end knives so I really did not know what to expect.
The blade is not wobbly and loose feeling like all the sub-$50 knives that are scattered around my house.

I can't really speak intelligently about it since I have no knowledge of knife making but I would buy another. Here are a couple pictures, one is next to some Kershaw I found for comparison:

·
Registered
6,077 Posts
I just got a rat1 from ontario knife store on amazon for $25+ tax. Solid no wobble and very smooth open and close. Seems ground kind of sharp so i worry about edge lasting but haven't used it yet. I like bigger size and suprised its not heavier. Linerlock.

·
Registered
12,324 Posts
I have more than a few sub $50 knives with no wobble.
Guess you just have to get the right sub $50 knife.
Looks like you have a Kershaw OSO Sweet? Mine is very nice, just carried it yesterday.

I have one Emerson designed knife by CRKT, and I REALLY dislike that nifty pocket edge opener trick. I don't know if the knife is just too tight or what, but it rarely works as advertised, and even thumb opening is harder than I think it should be, unless I loosen things until the blade DOES wobble.

Have you tried using that feature?

I just got a rat1 from ontario knife store on amazon for $25+ tax. Solid no wobble and very smooth open and close. Seems ground kind of sharp so i worry about edge lasting but haven't used it yet. I like bigger size and suprised its not heavier. Linerlock.
I bought a pair of RAT 1's in a clamshell from Sam's 2 years back for $35. One straight edge, one half serrated, AUS 8 steel, not the D2.
Ridiculously good knives for the cost, and I agree, light for the size.
I've had no issue with edge retention, but I use a knife as a knife, not a prybar, ax, or cleaver.

·
Registered
6,758 Posts